Red Bank architect named N.J. architect of the year

Red Bank architect named N.J. architect of the year

Robert F. DeSantisRobert F. DeSantis

Red Bank architect Robert F. DeSantis, of Kaplan Gaunt DeSantis Architects, is the recipient of the AIA New Jersey Society of Architects Architect of the Year Award for 2002.

DeSantis was also recognized by the Jersey Shore Chapter, a preliminary step to receiving the state award.

DeSantis has served on the boards of the Community YMCA and the Rumson Country Day School. He is past president of the AIA New Jersey Shore Chapter and the Red Bank Rotary, and past chair of the Rotary Foundation. He is a past member of the Board of Directors of AIA New Jersey and serves on the legislative and government affairs committees.

DeSantis, who interned under local architect Noberu Kobayashi, was the second member of Kaplan Gaunt DeSantis to be recognized at the Shore Chapter meeting. Gary Y. Kaplan received the Distinguished Service Award for 2002.

Some of the organizations Kaplan has contributed to include Monmouth County Boy Scouts, New Jersey Easter Seal Society, New Jersey Arts Task Force, Pathways Rehabilitation Center, New Jersey Barrier Free Sub-Code Committee, and the Monmouth County Arts Council.

After 34 years in partnership, Kaplan recently retired from full-time practice but will continue as a consultant.

Chamber’s ‘Expo 2003’ slated for April 24

The Eastern Monmouth Area Chamber of Commerce, Red Bank, will hold its 18th annual trade show, "Expo 2003," April 24 from 4-7:30 p.m. Admission is free with attendee’s business card. The event will include more than 50 exhibitors, cash bar, refreshments, networking, and door prizes.

Area sponsors include Branches, Atlantic Security Fire, Ocean Township; Commerce Bank; the Community YMCA, Red Bank; eIS Technology Partners, Eatontown; First Atlantic Federal Credit Union, Tinton Falls; Omega Promotional Products, Middletown; Press Communications, Tinton Falls; WHTG 106.3 FM and Great Gold 1410 AM, Wayside section of Ocean Township; Wilentz, Goldman & Spitzer, Eatontown; Holiday Inn, Tinton Falls; Seabrook Village, Tinton Falls; and Smolin, Lupin and Co., West Long Branch.

For more information, call the chamber at (732) 741-0055.