Local hopefuls ready for party primaries Tuesday

Contested races in Millstone Township and Allentown Borough.

By: Ken Weingartner
   There are contested primaries in Millstone Township and Allentown Borough. Candidates in Washington, Upper Freehold, and Plumsted townships face no challenges within their respective parties in bids to run in November’s general election.
   In Allentown, three Democrats are running for the opportunity to challenge incumbent Republicans Margaret Armenante and Michael Schumacher in November. Stephanie Smith and Bill Soodul, who had unsuccessful Borough Council campaigns last year, are running, as is Theresa Smith.
   Armenante and Schumacher are running unopposed for the Republican nod.
   Both the Republican and Democratic parties have contested primaries in Millstone. Two three-year seats on the Township Committee will be open in November.
   Incumbent Republican Evan Maltz, who has served as mayor in 2001 and 2002, is running for a second term while Nancy Grbelja and former Committeeman Roger Staib also are seeking to represent the party.
   For the Democrats, incumbent Bill Nurko is running for a second term. Also hoping to represent the party are Chester Halka Jr. and Mark Cascella.
   In Upper Freehold, incumbent Republican David Horsnall will run uncontested in his party’s primary in his bid for another three-year Township Committee term. Mr. Horsnall is serving as mayor this year. No Democrats filed to run for the one open seat in the November general election.
   There will be two open three-year seats for Township Committee in Washington, and two candidates from each party have filed to run. Democrats Iris Jacobs and Ruthann Tobolski are unopposed in their party’s primary, as are incumbent Republicans Dave Fried and Doug Tindall.
   In Plumsted, Ron Dancer is running unopposed in the Republican primary to represent the party in the race for one open Township Committee seat. Mr. Dancer, the township’s current mayor, is seeking a fourth term.
   Howard Nadell was the only Democrat to file. Mr. Nadell is a former member of the All Boards Council and a former member of the township Environmental Commission.
   Polling locations are as follows:
   Allentown: District 1 votes at the Vo-Tech building at Allentown High School, High Street, and District 2 votes at borough hall, 8 N. Main St.
   Millstone: District 1 votes at the Millstone Township Community Center, 463 Stagecoach Road, Clarksburg; District 2 votes at the municipal building, 215 Millstone Road, Perrineville; Districts 3, 4, 5 and 6 vote at the Millstone Township Elementary School, 18 Schoolhouse Road, Clarksburg.
   Plumsted: District 1 votes at the New Egypt Firehouse, 59 Main St.; District 2 votes at the New Egypt First Aid Squad building, 32 Brynmore Road; District 3 votes at Jensen’s Deep Run, 4 Cranberry Drive.
   Upper Freehold: District 1 votes at the municipal building, 314 Route 539; District 2 and District 4 vote at the first aid building, Waker Avenue (Route 526); District 3, Hope Fire Company, Waker Avenue (Route 526).
   Washington: Districts 1 and 3 vote at Pond Road Middle School, 150 Pond Road; Districts 2 and 6 vote at the senior center, Robbinsville-Allentown Road; District 4 votes in the community room of the Rose Hill Assisted Living Center, 1150 Washington Blvd.; District 5 votes at the Washington Township Firehouse, 1149 Route 130 North; and District 7 votes in the municipal building’s courtroom, 1117 Route 130 North.