FRHSD students to perform with

All-Shore chorus

By dave benjamin
Staff Writer

FRHSD students
to perform with
By dave benjamin
Staff Writer

There are a lot of talented students in the Freehold Regional High School District and this year 51 of them have been selected, out of more than 350 who auditioned, for membership in the All-Shore Chorus.

"After a rigorous audition process, consisting of scales, sight reading and quartet selection, 51 Freehold Regional High School District students were selected to the All-Shore Chorus," said Alyn Heim, choral director at Freehold Township High School. "Over 350 students from 25 high schools in Monmouth and Ocean counties competed for a position in the prestigious 139-voice choir."

Excited about the results of the auditions, Heim said, "I am absolutely thrilled that so many of our students were chosen. We obviously have a large number of talented students and dedicated music teachers who work hard with the students."

In preparation for the competition, students practice before and after school with their choral directors. In addition to Heim, several district music directors, Jack Maniaci, Colts Neck High School, Michael Heap, Freehold Borough High School, Joseph Cantaffa, Howell High School, Peter Korey, Manalapan High School, and Susan Conners, Marlboro High School, helped students master the necessary skills and music needed to perform in the competition.

"This competition gives students an opportunity to perform material far more difficult than what regular high school choir offers and to compete with the best choral musicians in two counties," explained Heim.

Students selected to the All-Shore Chorus are Jennifer Balzarano, Jeff Brown and Samantha Croce from Colts Neck High School.

Selected from Freehold Borough High School are Jeffrey Cheng, Ryan Lambe, Eric Schlossberg, John Tomasulo and Samantha Wuu.

From Freehold Township High School, selected students are Robert Andrews, Vincent Cariello, Emma Fretz, Ian Frons, Ahmad Hasani, Erin Kilduff, Ashley Kinney, Katherine Lukianov, Jarrell Morris, Evan Newman, Tara Riccelli, Amanda Ross, Brittany Scott, Philip Senesey, Brandon Solarana and Genie Suk.

Howell High School students who have been selected are Ashley Alliano, Andrew Arena, Faith Bryck, Ashante Carr, Kate Farinella, Matt Jensen, Kara Jones, Elyse Lichtenthal, Michael Mikkelson, Amy Polumbo, James Reilly and Rebekah Schanck.

Eileen Jahn has been selected from Manalapan High School; and from Marlboro High School Michelle Blum, Tiffany Chen, Amanda Fernandez, Joshua Gleich, Britney Greenhouse, Tammy Hayes, Edward Kobis, Jill Maybruch, Emily Parsowith, Lipica Roy, Jamie Rubenstein, Maya Sariahmed, Scott Schafler and Stephanie Sherman have been selected for the chorus.

The public is invited to attend the All-Shore Chorus annual concert on Feb. 9 at Red Bank Regional High School, 101 Ridge Road, Little Silver.

Students from Howell attend the six schools in the Freehold Regional High School District.