HoVal’s Athletic Hall of Fame 2004 Class of Inductees announced

Annual dinner will be held in March.

   The Hopewell Valley CHS Athletic Hall of Fame Committee has tabulated the ballots of the Selection Committee and has announced the 2004 Class of Inductees.
   After accepting nominations from the community, the nominating committee formed a ballot with names of outstanding Hopewell Valley athletes, coaches, teams and special contributors.
   This ballot and biographies of all candidates then was sent out to over 45 members of the Selection Committee — comprised of community members, coaches, teachers and former students — who then voted on athletes deserving recognition in the Hall of Fame.
   Members of the 2004 Hopewell Valley Athletic Hall of Fame are:
   Veteran’s Pre-1973 —Skip Shear, 1961; Tom VanHise, 1972.
   Pioneer’s Pre-1973 —Kathy Strang, 1970.
   Modern Era 1973+ —Shelley Pennington, 1974; Paul Shivers, 1977; Dave Ryan, 1987; and Colleen Farrell, 1995.
   Coach — Bill Montagna (posthumously).
   Team — 1989 Boys Soccer State Championship Team.
   Special Contributor —Warren C. Lewis.
   A banquet honoring the inductees will be held on March 27 at Angeloni’s Cedar Gardens on Route 33 in Hamilton.
   "This event promises to be a special reunion with some of Hopewell Valley’s great athletes in attendance," said a spokesman. Last year’s banquet had over 320 attendee’s and brought together community members, athletes, coaches, ex-teammates and friends from far and wide.
   For information on tickets or how to make a tax-deductible contribution, contact the Hopewell Valley Athletic Office at 737-4000.
   The Hall of Fame Committee is searching for members of the 1989 Boys Soccer Team. Those having information about any of the players or those who would like to become involved in this year’s event should contact Judy (Abbott, 1975) Niederer at 737-9558 or through e-mail at janiederer75@att.net.