MEMS students inducted into National Junior Honor Society

MANALAPAN – Thirty-five students from the Manalapan Englishtown Middle School were inducted into membership of the National Junior Honor Society in a candlelight ceremony held May 31.

Members were selected by a faculty council for meeting high standards of scholarship, service, leadership, citizenship and character.

Students inducted were Ashley Agbulos, Allison Belfer, Jessica Beltran, Sarah Bernard, Jessica Blitzer, Bridget Chadzuitko, John Ebinger, Nicole Evangelista, Joshua Falescky, Lindsey Fierro, Caren Fitzgerald, Caylee Harrington, Joshua Kronenfeld, Emily Lagomarisino, Sara Leung, Kathyrn Librizzi, Gina Mancini, Rebecca Miller, Andrea Minken, Courtney Moed, Nicole Nahmod, Maureen Nealon, Stefenie Pante, Lindsey Peterson, Matthew Pfeffer, Jonathan Pizarro-Ross, Bryan Rice, Kylee Rosella, Nicole Rynecki, Krista Samuels, Alyssa Schwartzberg, Ragha Suresh, Alex Szelest, Lauren Walker and Ethan Winter.

“National Junior Honor Society members are chosen for and then expected to continue their exemplary contributions to the school and community,” said Mary Ann Tamberella, chapter adviser.

This year the chapter raised funds for UNICEF, Hurricane Katrina victims and the American Cancer Society. The chapter members also provided tutoring for younger students in the Manalapan-Englishtown Regional School District.

According to a press release, the National Junior Honor Society ranks as one of the oldest and most prestigious national organizations for middle level schools and, since 1929, millions of students have been selected for membership. NJHS is sponsored by the National Association of Secondary Principals, which also sponsors the National Honor Society.