Magazine, newspaper honored

JACKSON — Students from Jackson Memorial High School have been honored for their literary and journalistic talents.

“We are extremely proud to recognize a number of high school students who have distinguished themselves by earning firstplace awards for two different publications from the American Scholastic Press Association,” Jackson Board of Education President Sharon Dey said at the board’s Feb. 15 meeting.

The first group of students was honored for creating the Jackson Views: Muses literary magazine. Bruce Miller is the adviser for the magazine, which is written, illustrated and produced by students.

The magazine features students’ poetry, artwork and photography, and was recognized for its outstanding writing, variety of material, attractive design and format, and superior editing.

All aspects of the literary magazine’s production are accomplished in-house with the supervision of graphic arts teacher Lloyd Taylor.

Students who participated in last year’s edition were recognized: editor, Jaclyn Bradli; literary editor, Vanessa Gibbs; layout/ art editors, Kaitlyn Allaire, Nicholas Frascino and Amanda Goodwin; and copy editor, Thomas Kluxen.

Staff members Krista Albert, Charles Gadson, Hayley Kotacska, Justin Nolan, Hope Olszewski, Seraphim Osiakwan, Marissa Parinello, Richard Partheymuller, Mark Tirone and Alyson Wright were also recognized,

The Jackson Memorial High School newspaper, the Jaguar Journal, also earned a first-place award from the American Scholastic Press Association.

“To have both of these literary publications recognized in this way is truly an honor and a testament to the hard work of our students and staff,” Dey said.

Miller is also the adviser for the newspaper.

Students recognized for their work on the Jaguar Journal were: editor, Justin Lesko; school news editor, Gabriella Justin; sports editors, Sarah Freyre and Ashley Wellington; entertainment editor, Jaclyn Bradli; opinion page editor, Richard Partheymuller; copy editor, Thomas Kluxen; and fashion editor, Maeghan Smith.

Staff members Chad Caruso, Gina Costanzo, Emily Glucksnis, Samantha Notaro, Amanda Schneider and Lindsay Wellington were also honored.