Sesely, Hopkinson win 40-lappers

Modified stock car driver Anthony Sesely of Matawan and Legend Cars speedster Derek Hopkinson of Toms River each enjoyed 40-lap feature race victories at Wall Stadium Speedway in Wall Township on Sept. 3.

Farmingdale’s Billy Cole led the Modified race early, before Shaun Carrig of Little Falls raced into the lead on lap 20. Soon Tim Arre of Toms River and Sesely charged into second and third, and the trio of Carrig, Arre and Sesely hooked up in a tight fight for the lead.

The battle boiled over with eight laps left when the trio touched and Carrig went spinning. Officials determined Arre contributed to the miscue and he was sent to the rear of the pack, moving Sesely into the lead and on to the eventual win. Freehold’s Chas Okerson, Chris Hamilton of North Haledon, Lafayette’s Roger Coss and Arre followed.

“From what I saw, it seemed like a racing accident,” Sesely said after the event. “When the 54 car slowed, it seemed to trigger a chain reaction. I just wish we all could have raced to the finish.”

Hopkinson was dominant in the INEX Legend Cars 40-lapper. He charged to the front early and never looked back. Howell’s Robert French recovered from early trouble to impress with a runner-up finish, while Kenny Van Wickle of Manasquan was third.

“I always thank my family, but this week they really worked hard on the car,” Hopkinson said. “I started college this week, so they had to have the car done early. They did a great job.”

In the 25-lapper for the Blewett Recycling Sportsman cars, Brick Township’s Robert Sutphin raced into the lead early and drove on to his second win of the year. Zach Alspach, Howell’s Kevin Davison, Kevin Eyres of Colts Neck and Brick Township’s Joe Mongeau were second through fifth.

Howell’s Steve West took the lead on lap 10 and then raced on to his third victory of the year in the Sanzari/Shinn Factory Stock 25-lapper. Whitey Miller of Jamesburg, Beachwood’s Todd Pilla, Brick Township’s Troy Gant and Shannon Mongeau of Bradley Beach completed the top five.

Brick Township’s Ron Frees continued to impress in the Street Stock division by winning his fourth straight 25-lap main event. Jackson’s Howie Conk, Beachwood’s Bill Vanderveen, Nick Kopf of Keyport and Chatham’s Nick Shaw followed Frees.