Wall Stadium season opens April 27

The waiting is over. Months of work at the speedway have been completed and hours of fine-tuning in area racecar shops are nearing an end, all in preparation for the start of the 2013 Saturday night professional stock car racing season at Wall Stadium Speedway on April 27.

Modified, Sportsman, Limited Late Model, Legend Cars, Factory Stock and 4- Cylinder racers will all be on the agenda.

The current schedule for the season opener will see the competitor pit area open at 11:30 a.m., with a paid testing session for competitors running from 12-2:30 p.m. The regular afternoon practice session will follow from 2:30-4 p.m., while spectator seating will open at 4 p.m. Fans entering the grandstands between 4-5:30 p.m. will enjoy a $2 discount.

The “On Track Party” will set up after practice and run from 4:30-5:30 p.m. Racing action on the third mile-paved oval will begin at 5:45 p.m., with qualifying events to be followed by feature race action for all six divisions tentatively set for 7 p.m.

The Modifieds will lead the way in a 40-lap main event, while the Sportsman cars, Limited Late Models, Factory Stocks and the INEX Legend Cars will all battle in 25-lappers. Perhaps the biggest field of cars expected on opening night and all season will be in the 4-Cylinder division. All main events will offer points toward the season-long driving titles in each division. Although defending Modified champion Anthony Sesely of Matawan plans to race on a limited schedule, there will be plenty of competition for opening night glory and the season-long title. Shaun Carrig of Little Falls, brothers-in-law Chas Okerson and Steven Reed, both of Freehold, Modified rookie Andrew Krause of Holmdel, Adam LaCicero of Lavallette, Sportsman champion Eric Mauriello of Howell and lady racer Shawna Ingraham of Brick are just a few of the area’s standout Modified drivers expected to go for the win and the seasonlong driving title.

The speedway’s Sportsman division is also creating a lot of interest for the new season. While 2012 champion Mauriello has moved to the Modified division, standouts Robert Sutphin of Brick, Kevin Davison of Howell, brothers Zack and Trevor Alspach of Willingboro, Andrew Krause of Holmdel and former champion Kevin Eyres of Colts Neck will be among those offering plenty of competition for the opening night win and 2013 crown.

Wall Stadium Speedway is located on Route 34 in Wall Township, just one mile north of Garden State Parkway exit 98 and Interstate 195 exit 35B. More information can be obtained by visiting wallspeedwayracing.com. The speedway hotline number is 732-681-6400 and email address is ckmotorsports@aol.com.