BURLINGTON COUNTY: Local races begin

Jersey holds its primary election

By Jen Samuel, Managing Editor
   Voters cast ballots on Tuesday during the New Jersey primary election.
   After the voting districts across the state closed 8 p.m. June 4, the Burlington County clerk’s office released the unofficial results.
   In Burlington County, the 2013 primary election brought out 18 percent of registered voters, just shy of 26,350 people.
   Of the 92,908 registered Democrats, there was a 11.65 percent turnout in the county, with 10,824 votes cast.
    Democrats selected Barbara Buono with 8,660 votes or 88.46 percent. Troy Webster won 1,071 votes, earning 10.94 percent. Also 59 people selected a personal choice for governor.
   With 66,492 registered Republicans in Burlington County, there was a 23.43 percent turnout at the polls, with 15,521 people making primary election decisions.
   Ninety-one percent of Republicans in the county — 13,840 people — selected Chris Christie to continue to represent the party for governor. Also 1,311 or 8.65 percent of the voters chose Seth Grossman.
   In Bordentown Township there is one seat up at the end of the year.
   Democratic Party members selected newcomer Richard Simpson with 127 votes to face off against Republican Richard Carson, who won 201 votes.
   Committeeman Karl Feltes, a Republican, will not be rerunning to keep the three-year seat, said Mary Picariello on June 5, who is the deputy clerk of Bordentown Township.
   Mr. Carson won 82.72 percent of the vote against former Bordentown Township Committee member Michael Dauber — who lost his seat on the committee last November. Mr. Dauber won 42 votes, according to the unofficial results from Burlington County. Republicans cast 243 votes in this primary race Tuesday.
   In Florence, there are three Township Council governing body seats up in 2013.
   ”Due to 2010 re-census we redistricted in 2012,” said Joy Weiler, Florence Township clerk, on Wednesday.
   In addition to the mayor, Florence has three council members at-large and three members who represent three individual wards. All six seats are four-year terms — and this year, the three ward seats are up, according to the clerk.
   In the race for the Ward 1 four-year seat, Republicans selected Shannon Stanuikynas with 91 votes. She will run against incumbent Democrat Frank Baldorossi Jr, who earned 69 votes from primary voters.
   Running for the Ward 2 seat on Florence Township Council will be Democrat Kimberly Smith against incumbent Republican David Woolston. Ms. Smith won 70 Democratic primary voters. Just shy of 160 Republicans voted for Mr. Woolston.
   In the race for the Ward 3 seat, incumbent Jerry Sandusky earned 123 Republican primary votes. Newcomer Rachel Moore won 79 votes from Democrats. The two will face off in November.
   Each ward has its own voting district.
   Mansfield Township Clerk Linda Semus said 681 voters came out on Tuesday.
   There are eight districts in Mansfield with a population of 8,500, the clerk said.
   According to the unofficial results from the Burlington County clerk’s office, five registered Democrats selected personal choices in the primary election for the Township Committee race.
   In contrast, 396 Republicans voted, casting ballots for incumbent Sean Gable to run to keep his seat on the committee.
   Mr. Gable currently serves on the Township Committee in Mansfield and is liaison to building and grounds; emergency management; insurance and safety; Public Works and serves additional liaison roles.
   No one was registered to run for the seat on the Democratic ticket.
   There is one seat up on the Chesterfield Township Committee this year.
   Chesterfield Municipal Clerk Caryn Hoyer said Wednesday there were a few write-in candidates chosen on both sides.
   The Chesterfield municipal clerk said, “254 total votes (were) cast in the election."
   Richard LoCascio, who currently holds the expiring seat, did not file a petition to run in the primary, Ms. Hoyer said.
   Mr. LoCascio serves Chesterfield today as its mayor. He also is liaison to buildings and grounds.
   Two newcomers ran against one another in the Republican primary for Mr. Locsho’s seat. Alexander Robotin, earning 123 votes, defeated fellow Republican Barry Hawley, who earned 12.43 percent or 21 votes.21 Republicans selected a personal choice.
   No one from the Democratic Party petitioned to run for the Chesterfield Township seat, however six Democrats made write in choices.
   All seats on the Township Committee in Chesterfield are three-year terms.
   There are two seats up this year on the North Hanover Township Committee. Winning Republicans were James Durr, with 242 votes of 41.37 percent; and Deborah Butler, with 230 votes or 39.32 votes.
   Christine Germann lost her bid to represent North Hanover on the Republican ticket, garnering 112 votes.
   The primary election saw 585 registered Republicans in North Hanover at the polls. In contrast, 33 Democrats voted, all casting selections for write-in candidates.
   In Fieldsboro Borough, incumbent Mayor David Hansell unanimously won the Democratic nomination with 24 votes cast. No Republican voted in this race.
   For the one seat up on the Fieldsboro Borough Council, 22 people selected Democrat Elizabeth Marsh in the primary. Two people cast person choices. No one registered to run for the Republican ticket in this race, and no write-in votes were cast.
   In New Hanover, Republicans selected — with 60 votes — Dennis Roohr, to fill the one seat up on the Township Committee. No Democrat voted in this race.
   As previously reported, after last month’s uncontested elections — the Bordentown City Commission reorganized this spring — naming Joseph Malone III city mayor.
   James Lynch, the outgoing mayor, was appointed deputy mayor.
   Longtime City Commissioner Zigmont Targonski serves as the third person on the Bordentown City governing body.
   Mayor Malone is a former member of the New Jersey General Assembly.
   Election Day is Nov. 5.
Editor’s note: The results featured in this article are the unofficial results of the June 6 New Jersey primary election from the Burlington County clerk’s office. Official results have not yet been released.