ROBBINSVILLE: Students honored with annual awards

School officials, community leaders laud students’ achievements

by James McEvoy, Managing Editor
ROBBINSVILLE — Two weeks before accepting their high school diplomas Robbinsville High School seniors were recognized for academic success and community service contributions at the annual senior awards night.
   In addition to dozens of scholarships at the June 4 ceremony, department and athletic awards were issued and students were also recognized for achieving honor roll status.
   ”This is a very special evening,” said Principal Molly C. Avery, in her opening remarks. “It’s an event that makes me very proud to be the principal of this high school.
   ”All of us are here to celebrate and to reflect on the great achievements of the best and brightest of the Class of 2013,” she added, encouraging the soon-to-be graduates to take the time to reflect on the past four years of their lives.
   ”Please really take time to enjoy the next few weeks,” she said. “Take it all in because June 21 will be here before you know it.”
   Among the scholarships offered was the inaugural Diane E. Dwyer Memorial Scholarship, which was awarded to Meredith Clark and Kevin King. Each student was awarded $1,000.
   Superintendent Steve Mayer presented the award, dedicated to the memory of Ms. Dwyer, district head of human resources, who passed away in February.
   Dr. Mayer said Ms. Dwyer performed her duties “with a passion for excellence that’s rare.”
   ”Diane was one of those people who if you met her you’d be proud forever to have known her,” he added. “We’re so grateful to her family, the Dwyer family, this year for sponsoring our first scholarship.”
   The two student recipients wrote essays based on a quote on a wall in Ms. Dwyer’s office: “Look at everything as though you are seeing it for the first time or the last time. Then your time on earth will be filled with glory.”
   Also awarded were the Qasim Mohammed Ali Muzaffar and Ahad Mohammed Ali Muzaffar scholarships.
   Basit and Abroo Muzaffar, parents of Qasim, 16, and Ahad, 12, who tragically passed away in 2010 of accidental carbon monoxide poisoning, awarded the scholarships to Alana Hopkins and Ian Panasowich for $5,000 and $2,000, respectively.
   Mr. Muzaffar noted solemnly that Qasim was a member of the Class of 2013.
   Local and county PTAs, the Robbinsville Women’s Club, the Robbinsville/Hamilton Sunrise Rotary Foundation and the Robbinsville Irish Heritage Association also awarded scholarships.
   Approximately $30,000 was awarded in scholarships at the ceremony.