NAACP branch sets Freedom Fund Dinner

The Metuchen-Edison Area Branch of the NAACP will celebrate its 37th annual Freedom Fund Dinner Black Tie Ball at 7 p.m. Nov. 16 at the Westwood Manor, 438 North Ave., Garwood. The musical group R&B will perform.

Under the theme “We Shall Not be Moved,” the event will honor those who have made vital contributions to strengthening the community. Awards will be given to the following honorees:

 Community Awards: Brian D. Agnew, senior vice president for development at the Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital; Tamera L. Francis, retired New Jersey educator; Dr. Jeffrey A. Robinson, assistant director of the Center for Urban Entrepreneurship & Economic Development; Winston Hughes, named Educator of the Year by the Edison Jaycees; Congressman

Frank Pallone Jr., representing the people of the 6th District; and Attorney Satish Poondi, community organizer

 Branch President’s Award: Bonita Dennis Calloway, member of the Middlesex County School Nurses Association and chair of the Metuchen Edison Area Branch and New Jersey State NAACP Health Committees

 Emmet Till Youth Leadership Award: Brittany Alyse Calloway, member of the NAACP Youth Council and currently employed in the Office of the University Counsel at Georgetown University

Proceeds support community efforts of the NAACP local branch, including scholarship and mentor programs for area students. Tickets are $85. For more information, visit or call 732-841-9023.