Hambletonian winner Trixton is Standardbred of the Year

Hambletonian winner Trixton will receive the 2014 Secretary of Agriculture’s Trophy as New Jersey Standardbred of the Year as selected by the New Jersey Department of Agriculture.

Trixton and Deo Volente Farms, the 2014 New Jersey Breeder of the Year and the trotter’s new home, will be among the honorees at the 58th annual New Jersey Breeders Awards Luncheon at 1 p.m. Jan. 25 at Charley’s Other Brother in Eastampton Township.

Trixton will begin his career as a stallion in 2015, standing at Deo Volente Farms in Franklin Township for a fee of $12,000.

“We think Mike Gulotta (CEO of Deo Volente Farms) has demonstrated great foresight to stand Trixton in New Jersey,” Standardbred Breeders and Owners Association President Tom Luchento said in a press release. “We hope breeders will share his faith in the future of the New Jersey program and breed their mares to Trixton.”

Trixton was one of three stellar 3-yearold trotting colts in the stable of Hall of Famer Jimmy Takter in 2014 heading into the prestigious Hambletonian on Aug. 2 at the Meadowlands. While his stablemates, Father Patrick and Nuncio, seemed like the stronger contenders, it was Trixton who prevailed, with Takter picking up his first Hambletonian as a driver and third as a trainer (Malabar Man in 1997 and Muscle Massive in 2010). Nuncio was second and Father Patrick made an uncharacteristic break in stride, finishing out of contention.

Trixton’s sire, Muscle Hill, is a son of Muscles Yankee. All three generations are Hambletonian winners and stallions who have stood in New Jersey.

Trixton’s 2014 victories also included the Good Times, Simpson, Reynolds, Simcoe and the New Jersey Sire Stakes Championship. He was also honored as New Jersey Sire Stakes Horse of the Year.

A $360,000 Lexington Selected Sale purchase, the trotter raced for the partnership of Bengt Agerup’s Brixton Medical AB of Orsundsbro, Sweden, and Christina Takter of East Windsor. He was bred by Steve H. Stewart of Paris, Ky.; Martti Ala- Seppala of Hollola, Finland, and John Bootsman of Ekero, Sweden.

For tickets to the awards luncheon, which are $35 each, contact Kim Tkacs at 609-292-8830.