Walsh, Smith and Nicastro begin new terms in Howell

Staff Writer

HOWELL — There were no changes on the Township Council as Howell’s governing body reorganized for 2015.

Robert Walsh, Robert Nicastro and Pauline Smith, who were re-elected to fouryear terms in November, were sworn into office again on Jan. 1.

Mayor Bill Gotto and Councilman Ed Guz remain on the governing body. Nicastro was returned to the position of deputy mayor. All of the members of the council are Republicans.

“As I reflect on the past four years of what we have accomplished, it has all been made possible because we are standing on the shoulders of some great past leaders. We have implemented policies that have fundamentally changed the way things have been done for decades in Howell,” Nicastro said.

In regard to being re-elected as deputy mayor, Nicastro said it is an honor.

“It is always so humbling to be selected into this position by my fellow colleagues, and I want to thank them for their confidence in me,” he said.

Smith said 2015 will be a good beginning to another term.

“The most important part of this job is representing all of you [residents], and I try very hard to do that impartially. And I hope I have been successful so far. I thank you all for being patient with me and having faith in me as I have in all of you and this wonderful township,” the councilwoman said.

Walsh, who has served on the governing body since 2005, said it is a privilege to represent the people of Howell.

“I keep doing this because I enjoy it. And I believe, in my 10 years up here, we have seen Howell progress in many different areas. … We have faced a lot of adversity, but one thing I admire most about where I live is how Howell always seems to rally around itself,” he said.

During the meeting, council members voted unanimously to appoint Jeffrey Mayfield as Howell’s new township manager.

Following a 30-year career with the Howell Police Department, Mayfield was hired as the deputy township manager in early 2014. He will now direct the operations of the municipality following the retirement of Jeffrey Filiatreault.

“I thank God for giving me the opportunity to come and work in Howell — first through law enforcement and now with the governing body. And I look forward to the challenges that lie ahead, and I thank Mayor Gotto and the council for the confidence they have in me,” Mayfield said.

The council appointed Nicastro, George Gravatt and Robert Nash to the Planning Board. Thomas Boyle was appointed as an alternate member.

The council appointed John Armata and Thomas Posch to the Zoning Board of Adjustment. James Pastorick and Ronald Campos were appointed as alternate members.