Sesely earns fourth win of season at Wall’s Night of Champions

I n front of a large grandstand crowd and close to 50 past driving champions, Matawan’s Anthony Sesely raced to his fourth Modified win of the year on “Salute to the Champions Night” at Wall Stadium, Wall Township, July 9.

Chris Lane of Howell and Brick Township’s Joe Mongeau topped the companion Sportsman “Twin 25s.”

Howell’s Jamie Tomaino and Tim Arre of Toms River fought for the lead at the outset of the Modified 40-lapper before Arre took command on lap eight and Chas Okerson of Freehold advanced to second. Arre, Okerson and Tomaino remained a tight top three at the halfway mark as Sesely powered his way into fourth.

A lap-22 restart saw Arre and Okerson race side-by-side for second until Tomaino found the inside lane to his liking and slipped back into the runner-up spot. Arre and Tomaino then wrestled for the next three laps before touching in turn four. As a result, Arre spun from the lead, Tomaino tagged the guardrail and Okerson grabbed the top spot.

Okerson and Sesely then raced side-byside for the next several laps before Sesely used the outside lane to race into the lead and on to the win. Okerson, Shaun Carrig of Little Falls, Lafayette’s Roger Coss and Ron Frees of Browns Mills completed the top five.

“I don’t think I could have won it if that didn’t happen in turn four,” Sesely said, referring to the Arre/Tomaino incident. “I don’t really know how it happened, but it was a turning point in the race for me.” Sesley added to his points lead in the division with the victory. The first of two 25-lap main events for the Blewett Recycling Sportsman cars was super clean with just one caution slowing the action. Howell’s Chris Lane led this one from start to finish for his second win of the season over Brick Township’s Robert Sutphin, Kevin Eyres of Colts Neck, Howell’s Eric Mauriello and Kevin Davison of Howell.

Joe Mongeau of Brick Township won the nightcap 25-lapper, which was slowed by frequent cautions. Eyres, Farmingdale’s Steve Whitt, Andrew Krause of Holmdel and Willingboro’s Zach Alspach were second through fifth.

Nick Shaw of Chatham raced to his second win of the year in the 25-lap Street Stock feature by turning in a strong performance. Points leader Howie Conk of Jackson, Eric Gerchak, Shannon Mongeau and Beachwood’s Bill Vanderveen wrapped up the top five.

Dan Roslin of Jackson won his first INEX Legend Cars feature since 2007, beating Derek Hopkinson of Toms River to the finish line in the 25-lapper. Zach Alspach, Manasquan’s Kenny Van Wickle, and Casey Robicheau of Whiting were third through fifth.

Wall Stadium roars back into action on July 16 with the Street Stocks set for a 50- lap main event. The Modifieds will battle in a 40-lap feature and the Factory Stocks and Legend Cars will each compete in 25-lap main events. The Sportsman cars have the night off. Qualifying begins at 7 p.m.